News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

"Bubba-smithing" my AR

Started by Willociraptor, April 17, 2022, 02:12:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willociraptor

SHORT PREFACE
I've been shooting this 20" BCM since I bought it in 2016. It's great. I'm a big fan of 20" AR's. Fairly vanilla at first glance, but, as Han Solo once put it, "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid. I've made a lot of special modifications myself."
I want to freefloat it. I've toyed with the idea for years, and have learned how to shoot it at distance as-is (not freefloated), but finally decided to do it. But having my sweetheart rifle worked on was a nerve-racking proposition. I don't consider myself a guru, but I know my way around AR's, and I know this rifle better than I know my wife. My wife is the human being I know best, but she's still a human being with nuances and quirks and layers. And to further complicate her, those things change over time. The rifle, on the other hand, is just a machine. It operates based on mechanical certainties. And I believe in my abilities, so I decided to claim this project for myself.
Just wanted to share the story of how I did this little project. Whenever I do my own work, I try to document it as I go so that (a) if I mess something up then I can backtrack my steps and fix the mistake, and (b) I can share lessons learned with other people.
Primary moral of the story is - when working on BCM stuff, be prepared to either take it to a gunsmith or pull out the heavy equipment.
~~~~~~~~~~
OKAY NOW FOR THE WRITEUP