News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Impact of I-594

Started by baldsincebirth, August 14, 2014, 01:36:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baldsincebirth

So I'm not a lawyer and don't pretend to be one, but I do have some concerns with how this is going to impact us here in Washington.   :-\

As far as I can tell, there are certain exceptions that cover us so that we can loan students firearms while we're at the range.  (Sec. 3-4-f-III)

Where it gets weird is when it comes to someone borrowing a rifle from a friend to use at an Appleseed.  Technically the transfer occurs prior to the event, and if the person loaning the rifle isn't a direct family member, this would seem to be a transfer for the purposes of the law. 

The other area that concerns me is with going shooting out in BFE with a friend.  Since it's not a legally recognized range or lawful organization putting it on, even allowing a friend to shoot your firearm would appear to constitute a transfer. 

I don't think the sky is falling for AS in Washington, but there does seem to be some implications even if it's only being aware that we might not want to advocate people borrowing rifles from friends for the AS.

What are your thoughts?

Earl

I have to see both initiatives, but any change in current law is wrong. And that is my two cents worth. I will vote on the initiatives, but if they don't free up the people it will be a NAY vote.
... to catch the fire in another American for sharing the skills and our heritage to our posterity. Maybe my perfect shots will be made by those I met along the trials and trails of Appleseed. I know that America is a nation of Riflemen.

baldsincebirth