News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Happy Veteran's Day Appleseed

Started by Trouble, November 11, 2010, 05:47:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trouble

Alright, so I'm not sure posting something like this is entirely appropriate; but...ask forgiveness, not permission.  :bow:

I'm still quite new to Appleseed, but even so I feel like I've grasped its message. This Veteran's Day I have read many of the messages showing gratitude towards our troops and all that they have sacrificed for our freedom. This year I want to take a step back, and thank some of the organizations that go unrecognized for their contributions to this freedom. I feel that Appleseed itself, and its wonderful volunteers, deserve a fair amount of credit.

As a soldier about to be deployed overseas I would like to thank you. You have given me and many of my brothers and sisters skills that will without a doubt save lives, if ever it should come to it. You have dedicated yourselves to a cause that many Americans have forgotten. By reminding our troops, you have provided motivation to continue to fight, and that is something which is hard to come by in this war. You have taught us a few brief, but alarmingly important events in our history, awakening our sense of obligation to liberty and the people of the USA. Even more astounding, you have given us a way to bring this realization to our families, so that they might also awaken and learn the skills of marksmanship, giving us more peace of mind while we are away from home.

As a soldier, I recognize you as fellow brothers and sisters in arms, waging war with several of our unrealized and deadliest of enemies.