News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

NY Laws regarding Youth and Firearms

Started by gunville, February 24, 2010, 12:41:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gunville

First off, I'm not a lawyer, and I don't play one on TV. Second, the firearms laws of New York are absurd and clear violations of the 2nd Amendment. Getting past those things I've been reading these laws:

I'm concerned about the legal instruction of youths under 16 at Appleseeds in NY.

From what I read, our instructors may not all meet the requirements set forth.  I'll include the appropriate sections in a reply, but they boil down basically to this:

Youths 12-16 can shoot firearms that use gunpowder at an indoor or outdoor range must be under the immediate supervision, guidence, and instruction of:
- A duly commisioned officer of the US Army/Navy/Marines/Coast Guard, or NY National Guard
- a US Citizin with small arms instruction certification provided by the Army/Navy/Marines, or NRA
- An adult with a hunter safety certificate

Youths under 12 can not legally shoot firearms with gunpowder propellent.
Youths under 12 can shoot air guns with the same restricitions as 12-16 have with gunpowder firearms.

-----------------------------
"During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act." - George Orwell

gunville

265.05. Unlawful possession of weapons
by persons under sixteen

It shall be unlawful
for any person under the age of sixteen to possess
any air-gun, spring-gun or other instrument
or weapon in which the propelling force is a
spring or air, or any gun or any instrument or
weapon in or upon which any loaded or blank