News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

QST QST QST Ham operators in ALL regions

Started by Marquis de M, December 22, 2017, 10:08:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marquis de M

A couple of days ago I read (once again) the Benediction https://appleseedinfo.org/tips/benediction.php and the following words: "Help AS, … - by getting the word out" once again really rang out to me.

Given that I am a licensed Amateur Radio operator, I would like to operate at least two "Appleseed Project Special Event Stations" during 2018.

For all the non-Amateur Radio Operators here:
What is a "special event station"? Please look at some examples here: 
http://www.eham.net/ehamforum/smf/index.php/board,35.80.html
In depth info on Special event stations here: 
http://www.1x1callsigns.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4&Itemid=6

WHEN: I am currently thinking of at least one main event for Appleseed: Multi-hour on air activation covering the week of April 19th.

WHO: One Appleseed Ham operator in every call sign region of the US. If Canadian Hams join in, the more the merrier. With me, Region 4 is covered. WHO will step forward for the other regions?

HOW: Operate at your leisure on as many days of that week as possible, but let us post our approximate on air times at eHam.net and similar.

QSL Cards & FUNDING: I will sponsor the first 1000 QSL Cards, for example the Premium cards seen here:
http://kb3ifh.homestead.com/pricing.html but really need someone savvy in graphics design to get a really nice card design. Imagine the PR effect of this for Appleseed !!!