News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Appleseed Helped Me In CMP Rimfire Sporter Competition

Started by GoodGunner, October 12, 2015, 05:14:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GoodGunner

I've only shot one Appleseed. It was back in April 2015, and I earned my patch with a 219.

Over the weekend, I decided to try my first shooting competition. The Civilian Marksmanship Program is holding their games all week at the Ben Avery range, and I was interested in the Rimfire Sporter competition.

So I took my ruger 10/22 appleseed rifle, paid $25 dollars, and felt like a total newb. I had no idea what I'd gotten myself into. Apparently, because this is the big Western CMP games, I was surrounded by shooters who were flying in from all over the neighboring states to compete. I started to wonder if I made a mistake and should leave to find a more local rimfire sporter competiton to cut my teeth on.

Good lord. I competed on a budget. I showed up with a stock rifle (except for my tech sight upgrade), a scrap of moving blanket for a shooting mat, and don't even own a spotting scope. I felt like some fool who wandered in off the street.

My fellow competitors could not have been more wonderful. They took me under their wing, loaned me a spotting scope, taught me how to run the score cards, and the courses of fire. I ended up having a great time.