News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Help with LTR

Started by Cato in PA, December 29, 2012, 11:04:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cato in PA

Hello, PA Appleseed community! I'm brand new to firearms. I bought my first rifle, a Ruger 10/22, over Black Friday so that I can make a Liberty Training Rifle out of it and attend an Appleseed event in the spring. It sounds like a great way to get started shooting, and I love learning about American history.

I've got all the parts I need to assemble my LTR, but I'm afraid I just don't have the skills to install them. I can't get the factory front sight off so that I can install my Tech Sights front, for instance; I tried applying a little Liquid Wrench and giving it a few hits with a punch, but not only did it not move, I got a small ding just below the dovetail notch because the punch I used was steel and I didn't think to use brass. I've read up on techniques over at Rimfirecentral, used Google, etc., but ultimately I'm just no good at working with tools (yet).

I suppose I could take my parts to a gunsmith - I don't mind paying for good work - but then I'd be just as clueless about what to do as I am now. Is there anyone in the Pittsburgh area with the the tools and knowledge who could work with me on this?

-Installing sling swivels
-Removing factory front sight so I can install Tech Sights front sight
-Removing factory bolt stop pin (it's stuck)
-General advice on tools, anything else I need to know,  etc.

Like I said, I don't mind paying, but being able to learn is just as important to me as getting the job done.

Chainsaw

Hey Cato,