News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Looking into my 1st center fire rifle

Started by Publican, July 27, 2012, 10:03:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Publican

Not set on it per se but looking into a 7mm-08
Intended uses:
When I start a small hobby farm...critter removal
Hopefully getting back into hunting to provide food...deer sized
Continuing to learn how to shoot a rifle...I am a noob to rifles

Any pros/cons inherent to this caliber that I should be aware of? Thanks in advance.
"I regard giving as necessary to right the balance..." Hu Chung

"Things now every day begin to grow more and more serious" Lord Percy

"Please remember the 2nd Amendment each and every time you vote".....Cork

"I need to actively fight the external threat, so as not to become the internal threat!".....Publican

SSG Platz

Price is the only thing that would move me away from 7mm, cheapest stuff I've seen on the web is $0.95 a round. Where 308 is $0.62 cents a round. Cheaper ammo means more range time,as slim puts it.

~PlatzOut~
Lord make me fast and accurate. Let my aim be true, and my hands faster than those who would seek to destroy me.  Grant me victory over my foes, and those  that wish to do harm to me and mine. Let not my last thought be if I only had my Gun; and loard if today is truly the day that you take me home, let me die in a pile of empty brass.

Charles McKinley

A .243 Win. fan myself. If I was looking for a new rifle now it would probably be aa. 308 fir ammo availability.