News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

rifle requirements

Started by otter1422, April 29, 2012, 12:10:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

otter1422

I am new to firearms and just bought an M&P1522 rifle to shoot with. I desperately need to get some instruction on how to properly shoot my rifle. The rifle has iron sights on it and I purchased a scope for it that I have little idea how to properly mount and no idea how to properly use or sight in. :-[ I stumbled upon the Appleseed program and it sounds great but it appears I may be in need of some even more basic rifle training than this program is designed for is that correct? It also appears I have completely the wrong rifle and lack of accessories such as sling, shooting mat.
   Is there some other training/program I should start with? Do I need to have a different rifle for the Appleseed program?

Morpheus

You are definitely in the right place. Appleseed Shoots are perfectly suited for the newbie shooter and lifelong shooter as well. Appleseed Instructors are all volunteers and provide some of the best marksmanship instruction that is available. When you show up to an AS (Appleseed Shoot) you will find yourself amongst friends.

The M&P 15-22 is a fine rifle. You shouldn't have any problems with it. Iron sights or a scope is the shooter's choice. I personally would encourage using iron sights if your eyes are up for it. (some of us older shooters are unable to properly focus on the front sight)