News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

CT-resident instructor loaning LTRs to MA-resident student @ Harvard?

Started by fprintf, April 11, 2011, 11:48:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fprintf

I have a good friend, a Massachusetts resident, that is interested in coming out to an Appleseed event, either in Harvard or Pelham.

I am a CT resident, and would like to come up and instruct but also to bring my pair of LTRs. However I am interested to hear whether there are any state laws I need to be aware of. My friend does not have an FID card, carry permit or anything like that. I need to be aware of what MA laws apply to temporarily loaning rifles to a student.

So what is the best way to provide this potential student with an LTR?
I'm good enough, I'm smart enough, and dog-gone it people like me!  ~Stuart Smalley

Nickle

As far as I know, it is legal to do so, if it is just for the period of the day's instruction, and he does not retain "custody" of it (as in overnight).

Federal law wise, it is totally legal to do just this.
They have men amongst them who know very well what they are about, having been employed as Rangers against the Indians and Canadians and this country being much covered with wood, and hilly, is very advantageous for their method of fighting. . . . ".  Lord Percy

Sounds like New Englanders to me.

dwarven1