News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Hi, new guy here!

Started by Tuksonrider, November 24, 2010, 10:58:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tuksonrider

Hi everyone. Greetings from Tucson.

I'm kinda new to shooting. I used to hunt with my dad about ..gee... 20-some years ago. I stopped shooting since, but now I'm back. My fiance got me back into shooting. Anyway, 3 weeks ago, I purchased a Savage MARK II GXP (.22 bolt action), and really interested in the Appleseed in Sierra Vista on Dec 18-19. My fiance intends to be with me and at the event. She has her own firearms.

What I'd like to know is where are some really nice camping spots near there. We plan to camp out on the 16th or 17th. We don't need any facilities, so just a basic campground is fine.

Thanks, and hope to see y'all out there!

Gordon

Hey, welcome to the RWVA forum!

I'm many hundreds of miles from Arizona and I don't know anything more about that site than what I can glean by a couple of minutes with the Internet. But the flier says camping on site is OK, and the club's website has a picture of a sign that suggests the whole thing is on BLM land so I suspect you can roll out your 'bag just about anywhere. And BTW, it looks fabulously beautiful! I'm jealous.  8)

Relatively new back into shooting, eh? I was the same way when I started with Appleseed, two and a half years ago. I did a bunch of shooting as a kid but none after my early 20's until June 08. Project Appleseed was just what I was looking for, in more ways than I could have expected at the time.