Project Appleseed

Your Appleseed State Board => California (bob 210 and Camljr and EagleScouter) => Topic started by: Cal 7.62 on February 01, 2012, 06:27:25 PM

Title: Bakersfield 2012 Appleseed schedule
Post by: Cal 7.62 on February 01, 2012, 06:27:25 PM
                                                                                      Attention Bakersfield !   :sos:
Project Appleseed is pleased to announce our 2012 schedule of marksmanship/heritage events at the popular 5 Dogs Range near Bakersfield,CA.
             Feb. 25-26, April 21-22, June 23-24, Sept. 29-30, Nov. 17-18
Are you new to the shooting sports?  You say you've never fired a rifle in your life?   
We'll teach you rifle safety, and fundamentals, such as; The 6 Steps To Firing The Shot and Natural Point Of Aim along with other skills.
Has it been TOO long since you've been to the range?  Is your "baby" feeling "neglected" in the gunsafe. Bring it! You WILL put some rounds through it!   :~
Are you seeking new skills or looking to brush up some old ones? We've got a spot on the line for you!
Are you a closet gun owner? Come out of that closet man, and shoot that rifle alongside Americans like yourself!  ;)   
We'll instruct you how to become a rifleman instead of a rifle owner!
Not only will you learn how to become a rifleman, you'll hear the about the rifleman's tradition and heritage. American heritage! YOUR Heritage! 
Find out when and where the Revolutionary War began. (It's not where you think!) 
Hear of the choices and sacrifices made by the men and women and even children on that historic day! 
***********April 19, 1775 **********
Come and discover your inner Patriot, and celebrate together with fellow Americans in one of your oldest rights!
All applicable California rifle restrictions are in place, if in doubt to what is allowable, please refer to:

*No detachable box magazines may be brought into state with capacity exceeding ten rounds. All Tubular-magazine 22s are OK.

*"Assault weapons" ban- If you're registered with CA DOJ already, you're fine and can shoot your AK, AR15, G3 etc. with no problem. Might want to Xerox the DOJ document and keep it in the rifle case. Do not bring an unregistered "assault weapon" into the state. Do not bring an unregistered "assault weapon" to the range. Similarly, unregistered 50 BMG is not legal.
Now, what is this going to cost you? Registration Fees (per person): $45 for one day or $70 for both days. Women: $5 for one day or $10 for both days.
Under 21: $2.50 for one day or $5 for both days. Active Military, Reserve, and Guard w/ ID, Peace Officers (w/ ID),
Disabled (w/ ID), Re-enactors in period dress, Elected officials (w/proof) shoot for free!
Registration link here-
Feb 25-26:
April 21-22:
June 23-24:
Sept 29-30:
Nov 17-18:

Walk on fees are $50 for one day, and $80 for the weekend. In addition everyone pays range fees. They are $10/shooter/day.
We recommend you bring: Rifle, ammunition (250 rounds per day), hat, adjustable sling, shooting jacket, and/or at least (soft) elbow pads, shooting mat (or carpet remnant), bag lunch, water/drink bottles, stapler & staples, pens, chair, and most importantly, a teachable attitude.  For more information on what to bring go to click on the Appleseed button, then on How to Prepare.
For more direct info, please check here:
Registration starts promptly @ 8:30 am, both days.

Motels are available in the area as well, please see the topic link above for more info.

For directions, please follow this link:

Any further questions? Feel free to call
Steve 661-248-6673 (6:00- 9:00 PM only) or email