News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Traditional 2 point sling at Appleseed?

Started by Sub_MOA, August 04, 2018, 08:46:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sub_MOA

Hi all,
I'm signed up for the November 2 day event and I was wondering if I can use a traditional 2 point sling for the event.
I've done one single day event earlier this year, and I was loaned a loop sling, however I was hoping that I could learn how to use my 2 point sling instead of the loop, as I usually have a 2 point sling mounted to my rifle.

Any help is appreciated.
THANKS!

Palladius

I'm very new to Appleseed (only attended one) so take my opinion with a truck of salt. The loop sling is a big part of the steady hold for the prone and seated positions. I don't think a two point sling used as a hasty sling can give you the same stability. The USGI slings are very cheap, ~ $14. I say get one for the event. I bought one to toss on my .22 for the event. It was worth every penny, I'm buying a couple more to put on my other rifles that I have two point slings on. No more two points for me!
First Appleseed/Redcoat/Rifleman 2018-07-23 Wilmington, OH

Keep your powder dry.

Though all under heaven be at peace, if the art of war be forgotten there is peril."
- Chinese proverb

"Tomorrow's battle is won during today's practice."
- Samurai maxim

didactic

By all means you can use a hasty (2-point) sling at an Appleseed shoot.   :F :yeahthat: