Author Topic: Course of Fire for Patriot's Day Memorial Volley  (Read 159 times)

Offline Ghostring

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 53
  • Texas State Coordinator
Course of Fire for Patriot's Day Memorial Volley
« on: April 19, 2017, 12:56:00 PM »
Copied from here: https://appleseedinfo.org/smf/index.php?topic=50809.0;topicseen

This is not official guidance, merely passing on tradition.  We have many new Shoot Bosses and Instructors this past year and they may find it of value.

Quote
Background:  Project Appleseed has been shooting the Volley for Liberty Since at least 2009.  Per Fred, it is fired on Saturday unless April 19th happens to fall on the Sunday of that weekend.  It is fired "in Honor of those who died gloriously fighting in the Cause of Liberty and their Country".

    Times:  We fire the volley at the same time across the Country:
    -   4 pm  Eastern
    -   3 pm Central
    -   2 pm Mountain
    -   1 pm Pacific

    This means the first FIRE command is given at these times.  Back-plan to ensure your shooters are in place and ready to fire at the time for your timezone.

    Course of Fire:  Frame the event, Discuss the procedure, Ask for questions.

I've attached a couple of documents.  One is what I believe to be the closest to the original COF for the Volley - formatted for readability.

There is also a modified version of this written by TJ Kackowski.  It uses all the names rather than just 14.  The difference is that the names are called out in groups of three.  Some prefer to remember all the names and it doesn't take that much extra time.  Liberty, yo.

At the end of Volley, you may choose to do a patch presentation ceremony for the Patriots' Day Patches.  It lends a certain solemnness to the moment.  One method that seems to work well is to tell the shooters that after the unload and fire command, to please stay at the base of their mat facing the Lineboss (or the Flags).  The SB can walk down the line, shaking each shooters hand, presenting each a patch, and thanking them for coming out for Liberty.  Then, dismiss for a break.

Have a great Patriots' Day celebration.

- Max Ord
"Whoever looks upon them as an irregular mob, will find himself very much mistaken...
     They have men amongst them who know very well what they are about..." - Lord Hugh Percy

"If a man's from Texas, he'll tell you.  If he's not, why embarrass him by asking?" - John Gunther

Mingus, TX - 10/29/2005 :)

Offline AF5US

  • RWVA Instructor
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 30
  • Rifleman: April 2016; Requalified: June 2017
Re: Course of Fire for Patriot's Day Memorial Volley
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 01:13:15 PM »
Thanks again for all of your hard work.  Coordinating all these Texans must keep you busy  :cool2: