News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Colonial longarms of the Concord fight

Started by Kaylee, January 11, 2012, 03:59:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kaylee

Hey y'all!

I had the chance to stop by the National Heritage Museum again and check out their relics from the Concord fight. There were a number of muskets and fowlers provenanced to participants in the Concord fight. No pictures, and I'm not an expert so could easily be missing some identifying trait or another, but here's what I noticed -

1. Musket, mid-1700's, carried by Solomon Brown at the Battle of Lexington.
  a. iron triggerguard (the only one of the bunch that did - most were brass)
  b. flat faced lockplate and cock, but the lockplate has a crown and "S+E" marking that looks like French military. There's a "D..." in script as well.
  c. there is a grooved rear "sight" filed into the tang/breechplug area.
  d. no endcap on the nose of the stock
  e. wood rammer (though it looks like a more recent replacement)

2. Fowler, 1774, carried by Moses Mossmon, a physician who also "mended and sold guns."
a. Drooped New England style butt (just like your early CZ-452)
b. front sight, rear sight groove.
c. octogon-to-round light weight barrel
d. flat lockplate

3. Fowler, 1773, carried by Thomas Earle.
a. rounded lockplate w/owners name engraved upon it.This is the only rounded lockplate I recall seeing on the colonial arms.

4. Musket, 1745, James Farmer, Gingham England. (This may be a British-carried piece, I'm not certain from the signage)
Long land pattern Brown Bess. Eschuton is marked:
XXI
---