News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Questions from a potential Rifleman

Started by tinyang, February 09, 2011, 02:27:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tinyang

Hi all

I'm new here, and I plan on attending an Appleseed event this spring.  I'm also fairly new to shooting, so I would really learn alot at an Appleseed event.  I have been doing some reading here and trying different things out in an effort to make the best LTR for myself.  Right now I have some questions about aperture sights.

I understand that tec sights are recommended for various reasons.  But they are aperture sights.  I've had one experience with a set of aperture sights and found they really flusterated me!  I found it extremely difficult to use, mainly for the fact that I had so much difficulty lining up the front and rear sights.  The aperture was so small that it was nearly impossible (or so it felt) to find the front sight inside the aperture in order to aim.  I found myself repeatedly standing at the firing line in the range holding the rifle up in firing position for 5+ minutes each time I stepped up for target shooting to try and line up the sights and giving up because my arms were too tired by then.  On rare occasions during that day I was able to line them up, but never found it a simple thing to do.