News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Rifleman Introductory Orientation - Pre-Appleseed Community Meetings

Started by Whisker, September 20, 2010, 03:53:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Whisker

Introducing the RIO - Rifleman Introductory Orientation

The idea is, create a stepping stool for those who are interested in becoming a Rifleman but are not willing to take that big step alone  

Why the RIO?

I have noticed that it takes a lot of individual attention and coddling to take someone who is a complete newbie to shooting and get them to the point where they would go to an Appleseed.  Once we get them to the Appleseed, no problem.  We'll make riflemen out of them.  Newbies are pretty easy.  We just gotta get them there.

I hope to accomplish several things- Expand rifle culture by making it available.  This means, we need to reach our hands a little lower to grab the hands of "less able/willing" Appleseed recruits.  

My theory is:  It is too big of a step to 1. Consider buying a rifle 2. Buy a rifle 3. Seek out productive instruction (Appleseed) 4.  Actually go, paying the $70, dedicating a weekend to hang out with a bunch of people they don't know...  That's a big step for most of America.