News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Stage 1 Standing - Is sling required?

Started by cyclingbob, September 05, 2013, 01:18:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cyclingbob

North Berwick 9/14 and 15, 2013.

Right handed shooter.

I have been using my support arm (left arm) with elbow resting on front of hip and left support hand on trigger housing. This is a very stable position for me and I have been using this position for several years.

Is a sling required for Stage 1.

I could not find a link to the rules. I am sure the rules are posted but I could not find them.

Thanks.

Bob

Nero

No, sling is not required, just recommended.

What you're describing is sometimes called 'target style', and I will how that to shooters if their body build / rifle combination suggests it might work better.  It can be quite stable, but (IMO) is more sensitive to centerfire recoil in rapid fire.  OTOH, 2:00 is an eternity, you won't be pressed for recovery time.
"Those who profess to favor freedom, and yet depreciate agitation, are men who want crops without plowing up the ground. They want rain without thunder and lightning. They want the ocean without the awful roar of its many waters." —Frederick Douglass

dond

For several months I have been teaching a combination of the Target Style and sling. I loosen the sling enough that I can get into the target style. I believer that it gives more support than either style by itself. This combination is also described in the new Instructor Manual.