News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

Smith & Wesson MP-15 22 and a good book

Started by muffin308, May 26, 2013, 03:15:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

muffin308

Hi Everyone,

I am new to AS and this is my first post.
I live in SE Minnesota with my wife and 4 kids and am excited to become a part of the AS team.

I just finished reading "The 5000 Year Leap" by W. Cleon Skousen published by the National Center for Constitutional Studies and recommed it for being a quick and easy read.

I have observed that young AS attendees are using the Rugers and Marlins.  These rifles are the same ones that adults use and the buttstocks are too long.  Plus the sights are hard to finely adjust.   I think the kids are having a difficult time finding correct position because of the oversize.

I heartily recommend that AS promote the Smith & Wesson MP-15 22.  The manual sights are easy to adjust (no hammer required, just clicks) and removeable.  A rail is built in for those who wish to use a scope.  The buttstock is adjustable for kids and adults.  They are light.   They are accurate.    They will handle any ammunition that I have tried.    They are simple to take apart and clean.  They are magazine fed, and the magazines are easy to insert and remove.  They are tough,  I have put over 5,000 rounds through it with fewer problems.  The safety had to be replaced with a metal one from an AR.  Two of my kids are lefty's so I made it ambidextrous.   They will appeal to youth because of the "cool" AR platform.   

I have a Ruger 10/22 with a custom thumbhole stock and Green Mountain Barrel.  The S&W shoots the same numbers on an QDAQT,  but without the fuss.