News:

We need volunteers in sales, marketing, PR, IT, and general "running of an organization." 
Maximize your Appleseed energy to make this program grow, and help fill the empty spots
on the firing line!  An hour of time spent at this level can have the impact of ten or a
hundred hours on the firing line.  Want to help? Send a PM to Monkey!

Main Menu

AAR: Rochester IN, Apr 2-3 2011

Started by yellowhousejake, April 03, 2011, 10:32:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yellowhousejake

This was one for the books. We had lots of kids, love the kids.

We saw some serious improvement all weekend, Colin and Landon as first time shooters with their brand new Rossi single shots. Both were barely strong enough to operate the actions but operate them they did, and well. I got a huge kick out of standing behind little Colin and listening to him recite the Safe Rifle rules every time he finished. Both boys went from complete beginners to safely operating their new rifles, big growth. I made them my little sharpshooters and called them Butch and Sundance all day.

Mom and their sister did well also, both learned a lot about how to properly handle their rifle, how to aim, and how to use the sling. I was very sorry to not see them back Sunday. As it turned out the weather was beyond favorable and actually better then Saturday. I hope to see all four of you again.

Christain did a great job with his GSG and that is not a easy rifle to use as a fundamental marksmanship platform, carbines rarely are. But we got a sling on it and he stuck it out doing well by the end of the day Saturday. I think he learned a lot and hope he gets to come back and shoot a full weekend next time. Dad should bring a rifle too.